First Things First

I’m turning into a bit of a ‘list lady’. This, in the main, is due to life becoming unbearably busy. I don’t seem to be able to keep everything in my head any more and I need to keep a record of things that I remember I need to do as well as keeping a list of things I mustn’t forget. Yesterday I managed to throw away 5 completed lists that I had written concerning our daughter’s 13th birthday which, incidentally, took about 5 days to celebrate!

I even have a handwritten note to myself on my desk noticeboard that encourages me to do the hardest things on my list(s) first.

Prioritizing is something I know I need to do more of, but too often the loudest voice rather than the most earnest is heard. I am a person who likes to be able to concentrate on a task without interruption, and boy is that difficult if you are married and have children 😉 I have all sorts of strategies that help me to do that, some of which involve me sending my homeschooled daughter to various extra-curricular activities. I also stay up late at night so I can have the quiet house all to myself. However we need the Lord’s direction when it comes to deciding what is important, both in terms of our purpose and future, and also on a day-to-day basis.

The steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord, And He delights in his way. Psalm 37:23

If we want the Lord to be delighted with what we are doing the only way to achieve that is to submit to His direction and guidance. Jesus said “I only do what I see my Father doing”. How many of us can say that hour by hour throughout the day? Paradoxically, I find that I have more time when I spend a portion of it hearing from the Lord. Things seem to fall into place much easier, somehow. Jesus knows best.

My times are in Your Hand. Psalm 31:15a

We had a prophet visit the church on Sunday, a lovely man who is very gentle in his ministry, but clearly hears the heart and voice of God. One who has read my mail (as they say) in the past. He gave John & me a word about writing. He said that he saw us at desks side by side, writing; and that we should de-clutter our time to give space for this to happen. We need to let some of the spinning plates fall to the ground. So as a response to the Lord I wanted to try and be more regular about writing my blog. As this is my first post in five months, I hope to be doing it more regularly.

See you next week?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

