Another Year Passes!

Well, it was my birthday yesterday, and I spent it with some of my favourite people. Here is a picture, taken by my husband of us having a Birthday Picnic at Packwood House.

Karen & Rachel eating sconesAlong with the sandwiches and Eisberg wine we are enjoying freshly homemade scones with Boysenberry Jam and whipped cream, fresh strawberries and more cream, marvelous! IMHO you can’t have too much cream on your birthday 😉

We listened to a very intersting talk about the history of the house and then went inside to have a look around. By this time it was getting a bit warm, but the NT had the heating on to reduce the humidity in the house – boiling!

Getting out of there was a breath of fresh air in the end, so we enjoyed a walk through the garden, the yew garden – with its topiary – and down around the lake and wood.

Here is Rachel sitting on a log, at about the same time that I got bitten by a mosquiMosquitos Beware!to. The mosquito came off worst, believe me!

It was a beautiful afternoon and we were among the last to leave.

Traffic was thick as we travelled home and we just had enough time to put some canneloni in the oven, have a quick shower and eat dinner before we were off out again to the pub with lovely friends.

I had been praying and trusting God for good weather on my birthday for a few weeks, knowing that I was keen to be outdoors this year and how awful the weather has been of late! God always comes through for me even if the answers are not quite what I expect, and He certainly did himself proud yesterday, and we were able to sit outside at the pub, in the garden by the river and 14th century bridge until 10.30pm. Here we are!

I had a lovely birthday, thank you everyone who made it so special. Sorry Landlord, I only remembered this morning that we forgot to put the tables back before we left :-S

Here’s to the next one!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

